Neon Genesis Evangelion

Type: You know the one

4375001+_20f8181a82d147becd0e1478c914d4d4

Synopsis: Giant robots. Whiny teenager. Dick Dad. Alien (?) Invaders. Complexes. Whacky ending.

Pros: It’s pretty good. I mean, what more can I say? It has good design, good music, worthwhile characters, a surprising amount of humor. It’s hard to write about Evangelion because so many people know about it, and so many anime have been influenced by it. As a late initiate, all I can say to any newcomers is that the show is not as intimidating as you may think it is. In fact, the show has quite a bit of traditional anime gags to balance out some of the more serious stuff. The action scenes are also amazing, as each invading “Angel” look and act in radically different ways. Every fight means somethings, for the narrative at large and individual characters.

Cons: The Ending. Whoa, did I not see that coming. I’ve seen a lot of sloppy and confusing anime endings, but this one took home the grand prize. The show used a pseudo clip-show to get all Freudian on the characters, seemingly forgetting that it had an actual plot to resolve. What’s up with Lilith? What was Gendo’s ultimate dickish plan? Why only 14 year olds? Did Asuka ever get out of her funk? Why were the angels attacking? I also thought that Shinji was a bit too much of a wuss, but considering his circumstances and horrible father (who never redeems himself), I gave him a pass. Seriously, what the FUCK was with that ending!?

Watch it?: A classic. Just pretend Ep. 25-26 don’t exist. (5/5)

MVP: Misato Katsuragi

260px-OP_C014_misato

I’d follow her fine behind into battle any day.

Best Episode: Ep. 19 “Introjection” (Personally, I wouldn’t have come back)

Tagged , , , , , , ,

5 thoughts on “Neon Genesis Evangelion

  1. Artemis says:

    I actually much preferred the series ending to the first two movies and their take on events. But then, I never particularly cared about the fate of the world as much as I did about the characters and their various emotional issues. The end of the series seemed essentially to be a resolving of Shinji’s psychological problems, which for me was the crux of the whole show, so it worked for me just fine. That said, there’s just so much about Evangelion that’s open to interpretation, and I can certainly see why other viewers weren’t as satisfied as I was.

  2. Well, watching The End of Evangelion made me love the original series’ ending more. I hope that the OVAs offer us something better. Only one more OVA to go, and they have been doing a great job this far.

    • lexor831 says:

      I’m looking forward to watching those OVA”s myself. I heard they’re great.

      • They really are. I was leery of watching the OVAs because it seemed to me that they were just trying to milk the franchise for a little more money. But, they have poured a ton of money into the OVAs and made many significant changes to the story and characters, especially after the first OVA.

        You won’t regret watching it!

Leave a Reply

