Rurouni Kenshin

Type: A Personal Favorite

kenshin-group1

Synopsis: The baddest man on the planet starts feeling guilty over his whole “man-slayer” title, and retires to a life of wandering. He starts carrying a reverse-blade sword so his mad skillz won’t utterly destroy the posers who attack him. A few years later, he shacks up with this Dojo Woman who think he killed her father. He didn’t, but you know how these things go. Together, they help defend Japan against the forces of evil, because Meiji Japan knows to respect the legend.

Pros: As stated above, I love Rurouni Kenshin. I’ve loved it since I was a kid. I love the fact that the protagonist is this super modest guy who only fights when he absolutely has to. I love that the franchise often injects real historical people and events into a story where one sword style is enough to end wars. I love that one episode where Sanosuke thought that cameras could steal souls. Even though the show stopped one arc short of the manga, I think they made the right decision. The New Kyoto Arc is the story’s high point, and Shishio is a damn charismatic antagonist. There are too many great moments to list, especially because a few are personally special to me, but trust me, this is a good show.

Cons: There’s no getting around it, Rurouni Kenshin is a shonen anime. Granted, a shonen anime where the protagonist is a full fledged adult looking for inner peace and redemption, not power, but a shonen anime nonetheless. There are several non-organic fights, and quiet a few supporting characters looking to become the strongest. Yahiko was particularly guilty of this (though his character does get better in the last arc of the manga). The filler within the anime were also not great, and the fact that the “last” season (ep. 63-95) was entirely filler makes me glad I stopped watching at ep. 62.

Watch it?: Guys, I have Reverse-Blade Sword. I think you know my answer. (4/5)

MVP: Rurouni Kenshin

Rurouni-Kenshin-Oro

Oro

Best Episode: Ep.57-60 Shishio vs. Kenshin (So. Damn. Epic.)

Tagged , , , , , ,

5 thoughts on “Rurouni Kenshin

  1. Denny Sinnoh says:

    Few things in anime are as good as Rurouni Kenshin’s first season. You are correct it bogs down later in the series, but still it is fun to watch.

  2. Rurouni Kenshin happens to be my all time favorite anime. Concerning the third season, I liked the Son of God arc and the Quest for the Divine Elixir Arc (No idea what it’s official name is, but it involves Germans searching for a Divine Elixir with the help of ninjas. No joke!). But, all in all, it’s far inferior to the prior two seasons. At least, we can read the manga if we want to know how Nobuhiro Watsuki wanted to continue the story.

  3. lexor831 says:

    true. got the whole collection on my shelf right now.

  4. mrconair says:

    This is perhaps one of my favourite shounen series, alongside Fullmetal Alchemist Brotherhood and Noragami. I do feel that trust and betrayal is superior, though.

Leave a Reply

