Rurouni Kenshin: Reflection (OVA)

Type: I don’t even, no.

rurouni-kenshin-reflection_3

Synopsis: Set in a horrible future we’ll call Earth-616, our once heroic protagonist abandons his family because he felt guilty over having a happy life and, and..no. You know what, no. I’m not doing this. SCREW THIS OVA.

Pros: There’s this part were Kauro tries to get Kenshin to give her leprosy by having sex. That’s so stupid that it makes me smile.

Cons: Jesus, where do I begin? This is a big, melodramatic, pile of lackluster storytelling. Everyone looks weird and the trademark action sequences are no where to be seen. And everything looks kinda grey. This thing totally missed the mark on the original source material. Why would Kenshin leave his family over guilt if the last arc of the manga specifically dealt with Kenshin getting over his guilt. That was the entire point of the fucking story. I’m sorry if this sounds like a rant, but it really upsets me that this story is considered canon by some people. Because it’s not. This is not how Kenshin’s story ends. This is not how the franchise ends. I refuse.

Watch it!?: Burn it.

MVP: No

kenshin45

No

Best Moment: The Leprosy Sex Thing.

Tagged , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “Rurouni Kenshin: Reflection (OVA)

  1. I also hated this OVA. It’s anathema to me. Nobuhiro Watsuki apparently said after watching this “But…I wanted a happy ending.” What I can’t understand is that people exist who actually like it.

  2. lexor831 says:

    I know right! That’s the great mystery in life.

Leave a Reply

