50 Question Meme (2 Years Anniversary)

450550_1355172733619_480_300

Howdy! It has been 2 years to the day since I started this little Anime Circle for the busy gentleman (and lady). In honor of this milestone, I’ll be answering the 50 Question Anime Meme!

Before that, I’d like to give a shout out to Artemis (whom I’m totally copying right now) and Medieval Otaku. Be sure to check out their awesome blogs!

1. Who is your favorite male anime character?

himura_kenshin__oro_by_toycute97-d4is20b

Wow, way to get right to the point. There are a lot of male characters I personally gravitate towards, like Kenji Hirama, Goku, Kenichi Shirahama, but favorite? You know what, I’d have to say Kenshin Himura. I mean, I did write three post about him. Kenshin’s goofy and modest, but also secretly powerful. And his story is about redemption. I like that. He works as a nice contrasts to other Shonen protagonists who ultimately just want to be strong. (Also everyone from Cromartie High)

2. Who is your favorite female character?

horo-spice-and-wolf-apple-crop

This is another tricky question, because depending on the type of anime you watch, you could have a multitude of choices. Since this is specifically about anime, I can’t say someone like Azula or Toph. I also can’t say Tsundere, because that’s a trope, not a character. So I’m ganna go with Holo from Spice and Wolf. Unlike a lot of other anime females portrayals, I felt that Holo had more weight to her as a character. Being hundreds of years old, Holo was confident, clever, and kinda sad. She’s someone I’d like to have a conversation with.

3. What is your favorite anime soundtrack?

Panty-And-Stocking-panty-and-stocking-with-garterbelt-17732583-900-732

I don’t know much about music, and less about Japanese music composers. Gurren Lagann had pretty good music. Ditto Afro Samurai. Guilty Crown was also surprisingly effective in its use of music. But if I had to buy one off Itunes, and remember this is a judgement free zone, I’d go with Panty & Stocking with Garterbelt. I know, I know. But I already have two of its song (‘Fly Away,’ ‘D City Rock’)  in my MP3 player.

4. What is your favorite anime opening + animation?

highschool_of_the_dead_opening_logo

I like a handful. C3’s opening is pretty good. The first opening for Maria Holic is fantastic. Cromartie High’s opening song is catchy as hell. And Bleach has always had some surprisingly neat opening. But I really like High School of the Dead’s opening. It a weird mixture of anime and zombie/horror troupes that mesh together as something amazing. Scary, exploitative, and gory, it tells me everything I need to know about the anime while making me want more.

5. What is your favorite anime ending song + animation?

I have a confession to make. I rarely watch the ending animation for a show. So I’m ganna pass this one.

6. What is your favorite anime scene?

after_19_01

The one where the hero gets the save at literally the last minute when everything seems hopeless. Like when Luffy punched Enel for the first time. But that’s my favorite thing in general. I typically like scenes that make me laugh or feel uplifted. But truthfully? My favorite anime scene ever is in Clanned: After Story, Ep. 19 ‘Road Home,’ when Tomoya finally forgives his father and recognizes the sacrifices he made for him. It’s an incredibly emotional scene, especially for someone raised by a single parent, and it always makes me tear up.

7. If you could meet an anime character who would it be?

konachan-com-86521-akiyama_mio-cygnus-drums-group-guitar-hirasawa_yui-instrument-k-on-kotobuki_tsumugi-nakano_azusa-seifuku-tainaka_ritsu

I already mentioned that I’d like to talk to Holo from Spice and Wolf, but if I had to choose someone else? Maybe the girls from K-ON! I’d like to jam with them.

8. What anime character is most similar to you in terms of personality?

Germany-hetalia-germany-25626384-600-600

Germany from Hetalia. Though not as hard a worker, I’m pretty grumpy at times and generally distant with most people, but I’m actually a big softy inside.

9. What is your favorite thing about anime?

tumblr_ma6sssje3x1r7b1v8o1_500

The gratuitous fan service. Just kidding! I like a few things. The humor, action, the random insertion of English here and there. I guess what I really like about anime is the sheer variety. Since most anime are about 12-24 episodes, you can experience a complete story with unique characters in a relatively short amount of time. This is great for a fiction addict like myself. Trust me, being weened on American Comics, The Simpsons, and Harry Potter, this is a nice change of pace.

10. What is your least favorite thing about anime?

The gratuitous fan service. And incest. I could do with a lot less incest in my anime.

11. Who are your favorite anime couple?

harimatenma1301

Harima and Tenma from School Rumble, even though they never actually dated. I liked Renton and Eureka from Eureka 7, especially cause you saw their relationship evolve over time. Kou and Nino’s relationship in Arakawa Under the Bridge is also very cute.

12. Who is your favorite anime animal?

Arakawa Under the Bridge - 13 - Large 13

Does a yakuza dressed as a bird count?

13. What anime would make a good game?

Now, there are plenty of anime I love that actually have good games…in Japan. Horizon in the Middle off Nowhere would would be amazing, if it was available in America. I’m mostly thinking fighting games, because I think anime transfer well into fighters. A Cromartie High Fighter by Arc Systems would be incredible. I’ve also always thought that a DC Comics vs Shonen Jump game should have been made years ago.

14. What game would make a good anime?

chronotrigger

Any Final Fantasy game. Just transfer the story right into the TV and don’t add any fluff. I’m also surprised that one one had made a Chrono Trigger anime yet, since I’d really, really, really begging to be one. It’s already got art from Akira Toriyama. God Hand would be awesome if it was made by Gainax. Street Fighter should have a lot better anime than it already has. Possibly one of Suda51’s games, like Killer 7 or No More Heroes.

15. What was the first anime you ever watched?

Magical-Shopping-Arcade-Abenobashi

I think it was Dragon Ball Z in Spanish. But the first anime I watched that I actually thought of as “anime” was probably Abenobashi Magical Shopping Arcade. Its also the only anime I actually have a physical copy of.

16. Do you think you’ll ever stop watching anime?

Nope.

17. What is your favorite genre of anime?

Anything that’s funny. Comedy/blank is my favorite genre. I also have a guilty pleasure for harems.

18. What is your least favorite genre of anime?

Anything that has to do with a family member falling in love with another family member, even if they are “adopted.” Ew. I don’t really watch Shonen anime much because they tend to be really long and repetitive (though I will read the manga). Shojo anime are also hit or miss for me (though I do like a good romantic comedy).

19. Are you open about watching anime with people you know?

Sometimes. Generally no. If it’s a movie, then sure. If it’s a TV show, it has to be in English. Comedies are pretty easy to watch with people, like Cromartie or even Lucky Star. As long as it’s not too sexual, them I’m cool with it. But for me, Anime’s a hobby, and I like to do my hobbies by myself. I won’t say no, but I’m not the kind of person to suggest watching it either.

20. Have you ever been to Japan?

No, but I’d like to.

21. What anime was the biggest let down for you?

Ben-To - 05 - Large 09

Ben-to. This show about kids fighting for convenience store sushi should have been amazing. It should have been a comedy. It should have pointed out how absurd it was for these kids to be doing this, but it didn’t. It could have had crazy anime fights involving beef jerky, but no. Instead, it played it straight and became just another shitty shonen anime.

22. What anime was better than expected?

accel-world-bd-172382

Accel World came out of nowhere for me. I was surprise at how much I liked it, especially considering the abnormal design for the main character. But it worked. I found myself empathizing with Haru more than usual. I loved the gaming aspects of the show and the character work. I also found myself pretty engrossed on the world the anime built, and hope they make a second season.

23. What is the best anime fight scene?

519149-screenshot077

There’s a short fight in Nisemonogatari between Koyomi and his sister Karen that I found pretty impressive. Luffy vs Luci in One Piece was fun. And most fights in Gurren Laggan and Kill La Kill are amazing.

24. Who is your anime waifu?

lovely-complex-3

Risa from Lovely Complex. If anything, just to get her away from that horrible Ootani. Fuck that guy.

25. What was your favorite video game as a child?

Spyro_2_-_Ripto's_Rage!_Coverart

Super Mario World/Spyro 2: Ripto’s Rage

26. Most embarrassing moment?

One time, I pleaded with my teacher to let me out of class or I’d miss the school bus. I misread the clock and didn’t know we still had an hour of school left. I have sleepy eyes, so some people in class thought I was already on drugs. This didn’t help my case.

27. Can you drive? Do you own a car?

Working on it.

28. Are you mature?

Like Biologically?

29. What year were you born?

In the year of our lord, 1990.

30. Do you prefer cats or dogs?

Cats.

31. Describe yourself physically.

Average height, black hair, buzz cut, brown eyes, brown skin, a bit more squishy than I’d like to be.

32. What would you name your first child?

If its a boy, then maybe Aurelio or Nicholas after my father or grandfather. Carmen for a girl. Secretly, I’d like to name one of my kids Mortimer or Morticia, so I can yell “Yo, Morty!” at them.

33. What is the worst injury you have ever had?

I once had a pretty bad crash on my bike and had a nasty bruise on my stomach and tailbone. But I had to study that day, so limped to the library, cleaned myself off, and read for a bit. Despite the advice of my friends and roommates, I decided not to go to the hospital. By some miracle, I managed to walk if off after a few weeks.

34. What is your worst habit?

I’m too generous a lover. And I’m a compulsive liar.

35. Do you drink or smoke?

Nope. Hate second-hand smoke. Don’t like to drink.

36. Do you have a tattoo?

No. Though I’d like a Superman tattoo one day.

37. Are you a morning person or a night person?

16444

A morning person. Definitely.

38. Have you ever slept past midday?

Once or twice in college. I was the graphic’s editor for my college’s comedy magazine, and they had the interesting habit of waiting till the last minute to complete the magazine. I usually had to spend multiple all-nighters for layout and editing. Once, this was before the very first day of school. Another time was before I had a Final.

39. Do you regret anything?

About three thing. Maybe four. It’s not something I like to think about.

40. Can you count the number of friends you have on one hand?

Yep.

41. Do you wear glasses?

Nope.

42. Are you a picky eater?

Nope. Though I’m wary about Chinese Food. My grandmother had the bad habit of trying to make Chinese Food, which never turned out right despite her mastery of Mexican food, so I’ve always had an aversion to it.

43. Would you die for someone?

I’d like to think that I could if the situation came up.

44. If you could have any superpower, what would it be?

Lex-Luthor

Superintelligence. Then I’d invent teleportation and a universal translater.

45. Do you believe in the supernatural?

Yes. I firmly believe my childhood home has a ghost in it. A friendly ghost, but still.

46. Would you rather be rich or famous?

Rich. Then I could buy commercials to make me famous.

47. Have you ever committed a crime?

Nothing that was proven.

48. Time traveler or ghost?

doctor_whoever_by_quirkilicious-d5bo0xi

Time Traveler. I’m a big sucker for time travel stories in general. Doctor Who, Back to the Future, the works.

49. Does someone have a crush on you?

Maybe my cat.

50. Are you in a relationship?

That’s a se-cre-t.

 

Thanks for reading! I look forward to another two years!

Tagged , ,

4 thoughts on “50 Question Meme (2 Years Anniversary)

  1. Artemis says:

    Happy 2-year anniversary! 🙂

  2. Congratulations on two years of great blogging! I loved your choices for favorite male and female characters. In particular, few women can beat Holo.

Leave a Reply

