I Can’t Understand What My Husband Is Saying

Type: To be fair, not all husbands quote anime that much (just the cool ones)

vC7jZVp

Synopsis: Kaoru’s a straight laced woman. Hajime is an eccentric otoku man. What happens when these two kookie kids get married? Nothing much really. Their a cute couple who do married stuff.

Pros: For one, its short. Every episode is 3 minutes long. You can watch the entire series in a little over an hour. It’s also very funny, since the show packs in a lot of sketches within every 3 minute episode. The source of the humor is the seemingly oddball paring of Kaoru and Hajime. They’re a fully realized couple with individual quirks and worries that work very well as a unit. Kaoru is more of the “normal” one, but also someone who never imagined herself getting married until it happened. Hajime is a comedic otoku, but fully realizes that some of his kirks may be odd to Kaoru. I loved their interactions, as well as the more introspective moments each character had. The show really captured those moments when you think “this, this is the person I’m with?” and those moments when you think “I’m so glad I get to be with this person.”

Cons: The more I think about it, the more I feel that the supporting cast is superfluous. They do allow the characters, mainly Kaoru, the voice her feelings, but this could have been done though a voice over. With 3 minute shows, the show could have easily just focused on Kaoru and Hajime. I’m saying this because the show doesn’t really take advantage of having 2 other couples to explore. I also found it odd that in the second season, the show chooses to ignore a big plot point until the very end. I almost thought the show was simply ignoring it.

Watch it?: A great love-comedy (4/5)

MPV: Kaoru and Hajime

725c5e5f190

I also love them in the manga!

Best Episode: The First Season (though the Second Season is also very good)

Tagged , , ,

Leave a Reply

