Sailor Moon Crystal (Season 1 & 2)

Type: Dark Kingdom and Black Moon

sailor-moon-crystal_0

Synopsis: Once upon a time, in a land of Beastmasters and Fresh Princes, there lived 5 Sailor Guardians who fought for love and justice. Together with their English cat, best friends from Brooklyn, and Surfer boyfriends, the Guardians thought a generation of boys and girls the importance of friendship, believing in yourself, and sometimes remembering to eat a balanced breakfast under the mantra “Sailor Moon says, tee-hee.” 20 years later, the legend of brought back to life, and its a hell of a lot more melodramatic than I remember.

Pros: So for various reasons, mostly the podcast “Sailor Business,” I have been slowly getting into the whole Sailor Moon franchise thingy. I watched the first season of the 90’s anime a while back, and now I caught up to the reboot. In all honesty, I liked the campy fun of the original, but this has some strong points. The best thing it does is emphasize the fairy tale aspect of the story, which works really well considering the nostalgia value this show has. Just look at the opening: five figures standing tall underneath the full moon. That shit is mythical imagery man. It also has gorgeous interstitials. Simply amazing. Crystal is suppose to be the show that follows the original manga, the Brotherhood treatment as it were. I can’t speak for the manga, but the anime is much more melodramatic than the 90’s show, making me think that the manga was meant for young teenage girls, not children. That’s not to say that it’s a bad thing. I loved the story of the tragic fall of the Moon Kingdom, which again, felt like it was straight out of a fairy tale. I mean, come one! The Princess of the Moon and the Prince of Earth fall in love, only to die in each other’s arms as their Kingdoms go to war? (I also had not idea that Usagi killed herself in that story. Way more hardcore than I thought would happen in a show were character yell “Make-Up!” to transform). I also really liked Sailor Pluto, which is interesting, because I didn’t think I would actually like any of the outer senshi. But her story’s so sad, and she has time travel and I’m a sucker for sad time travelers.

Cons: A common complaint that Crystal’s often given is that it doesn’t have the same charm as the 90’s anime, and isn’t quiet as engrossing as the manga. I myself found the show a bit dull at times. It’s definitely more subdued that the original show. The characters also looked weird to me, but you get use to it. Something you also have to understand is that this is Sailor Moon’s story. So while the other Sailor Scouts get intro episodes, there characters do not get explored much. They’re mostly Usagi’s support system. Literally, being her royal guard and all. I watched this in English, and let me tell you something, those voice actresses shreiked to high heaven during their transformation sequences. Which really takes out of some of the more dramatic scenes. Speaking of transformation, these iconic scenes are now in 3D, which I was not a fan of. Now…lets get to the elephant in the room: Chibi Moon. This was my first exposure to Chibi Moon. I was, ah, not prepared for what I got. I’m not going to waste your time talking about annoying child characters, or the holes in time travel stories–all I’m going to point out is that Chibi Moon is legitimately in romantic love with her father, is 900 years old, and threatened to shoot her mother in the face to steal her power. But she liked Sailor Pluto, and she automatically ran to her Earth grandparents when she saw them, so she gets a pass.

Watch it?: I prefer the silly original, but this is an interesting interpretation. (4/5)

MVP: Sailor Pluto

hqdefault

I am the watcher on the wall.

Best Episode: Ep.10 “Moon” (They were like Romeo and Juliet, but ended up in tragedy)

Tagged , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

