Ore Monogatari!!

Type: So Rinko’s totally dead, right?

[HorribleSubs] Ore Monogatari!! - 04 [1080p].mkv_snapshot_04.41_[2015.05.01_11.29.45]

Synopsis: This story is about the coolest MF’er in town dating the sweetest cinnamon bun in creation.

Pros: This is an incredibly endearing love story. It basically follows the relationship between Takeo, a giant of a teenage man, and Rinko Yamato, as very nice girl (who sometimes verges on being too vanilla). The show follows basic romantic-comedy troupes, wherein each of the couple’s romantic milestones are riddled with comedic situations. For example, Yamato’s confession of love happened while Takeo was hiding under the bed. While one may find some these moments cliche and familiar, the show elevates itself by accomplishing two very important tasks. First, it establishes Takeo as a genuinely good person whose abnormal size keeps him from dating girls. Seriously, the guys a teddy bear who happens to be incredibly awesome. Second, it establishes that Rinko is truly attracted to Takeo, both emotionally and physically. The latter was a surprising aspect of the show, as most anime don’t allow “pure” characters like Rinko to find anything about a man sexy. But we do get a few episodes where Rinko finds Takeo’s large frame pretty hot. You know what they say about big hands, shoulders, feet, lips, hearts and all. Unsurprisingly, the main couple make the show way more enjoyable than if would be without them. I’d also like to give big props to Suna for basically getting these two dopes together. The dude puts so much time into their relationship.

Cons: As mentioned above, looking at this show objectively, you will notice classic romance and comedy troupes. Whether it be love rivals, moments of doubt, or simple misunderstanding. However, I am happy to report that the show never resorts to heavy melodrama. Most of the conflict is relatively light, though as you get more into it you’ll notice a serious lack of stakes involved. You never truly feel that Takeo’s and Yamato’s relationship is in any danger. I mean, I’m grateful, because I don’t want any to happen to my OTP, but others might dislike this. I also found most of the supporting cast outside of Takeo and Yamato’s flock of friends boring. I truly did not care about Suna’s Sister’s Stalker/College Friend, or Suna’s Not-Girlfriend, or Yamato’s Weird Boss. Takeo’s would be student was OK, but she disappears after a while. In fact, most new character disappear after a while. Classic Arc-Specific Character Syndrome. And, what’s up with Suna.? Why’s he always hanging around? And what’s with all the catchphrases. I mean, come on!  If I hear one of “Suki da” or “Yokatta” or “Kakkoii” I am going to throw a thesaurus at my computer. Also, I’m not sure if there’s going to be a second season, BUT THERE SHOULD BE. I WANT TO SEE GRANDCHILDREN.

Watch it?: Best Love-Comedy in a While (4/5)

MVP: Takeo Goda

tumblr_nmr57ufkca1qa0mm4o2_r1_1280

I want this guy to be my brother, and my friend, and my lover

Best Episode: Ep.4 “My Boyfriend” (Takeo!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!)

Tagged , , ,

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.